The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) is a British public service broadcaster, headquartered at Broadcasting House in the City of Westminster, London. It is the largest broadcaster in the world, with about 23,000 staff. Its main responsibility is to provide public service broadcasting in the United Kingdom, Channel Islands and Isle of Man. The BBC is an autonomous public service broadcaster that operates under a Royal Charter and a Licence and Agreement from the Home Secretary. Within the United Kingdom its work is funded principally by an annual television licence fee, which is charged to all British households, companies and organisations using any type of equipment to record and/or receive live television broadcasts; the level of the fee is set annually by the British Government and agreed by Parliament.


BBC One is the flagship television channel of the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) in the United Kingdom.


BBC Two is the second television channel of the BBC. It covers a wide range of subject matter, but tending towards more 'highbrow' programmes than the more mainstream and popular BBC One.

BBC Three

BBC Three was a British television channel operated by the BBC.

BBC Four

BBC Four is a British television channel operated by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) and available to digital television viewers on Freeview, IPTV, satellite and cable.


CBBC (a contraction of the original name, Children's BBC, short for Children's British Broadcasting Corporation) is the brand name used for the BBC's children's television programmes.


CBeebies is a television channel produced by the BBC aimed at children 6 years and under.

BBC Parliament

BBC Parliament is a British television channel from the BBC. Its remit is to make accessible to all the work of the parliamentary and legislative bodies of the United Kingdom and the European Parliament.

BBC Alba

BBC Alba is a joint venture between the BBC and MG Alba, launched on 19 September 2008.

BBC Weather

BBC Weather provides national, international and regional forecasts for broadcast on its channels, and features meteorologists employed by the Met Office.

BBC Choice

BBC Choice was a BBC TV station which launched on 23 September 1998 and closed on 9 February 2003. It was the first British TV channel to broadcast exclusively in digital format, and was the first new channel from the BBC since BBC Two launched in 19...

BBC English Regions

BBC English Regions is the division of the BBC responsible for local television, radio, web and teletext services in England.

BBC Northern Ireland

BBC Northern Ireland is the main public service broadcaster in Northern Ireland.

BBC Scotland

BBC Scotland is a constituent part of the British Broadcasting Corporation, the publicly-funded broadcaster of the United Kingdom.

BBC: Special Menus and Promos

A selection of other menus used by the BBC for cross promotion across its channels and strands.

BBC Wales

BBC Cymru Wales is a division of the British Broadcasting Corporation for Wales.

Other BBC Services

Other services offered by the BBC.