ITV: Regions

ITV is a network of television channels that operate regional television services as well as sharing programmes between each other to be displayed on the entire network. In recent years, several of these companies have merged so currently the fifteen franchises are in the hands of two companies.


ABC was one of a number of commercial television companies set up in the 1950s by cinema chains in an attempt to safeguard their business.

Anglia Television

Anglia Television (now known as ITV Anglia) is the ITV franchise holder for the East Anglia franchise region.


Associated Television, often referred to as ATV, was a British television company, holder of various licenses to broadcast on the ITV network from 1955 until 31 December 1981.

Border Television

ITV Border, previously Border Television, is the Channel 3 service provided by ITV Broadcasting Limited for the England/Scotland border region, covering the majority of Cumbria, Dumfries and Galloway, the Scottish Borders and parts of Northumberland.


Carlton Television (now part of the non-franchise ITV London region) was the ITV franchise holder for London and the surrounding counties from 09:25 every Monday to 17:15 every Friday.


Central Independent Television, more commonly known as Central (now ITV Central) is the Independent Television contractor for the Midlands, created following the restructuring of ATV and commencing broadcast on 1 January 1982.

Channel Television

ITV Channel Television, previously Channel Television, is a British television station which has served as the ITV contractor for the Channel Islands since 1962.


Grampian Television (now legally known as STV North Ltd and referred to on-air as STV) is the ITV franchisee for the North and North East of Scotland.


ITV Granada (originally Granada Television or Granada TV) is the Channel 3 regional service for North West England, the licence for the region being held by ITV Broadcasting Limited since November 2008.


HTV, now legally known as ITV Wales & West, is the ITV contractor for Wales and the West of England, which operated from studios in Cardiff and Bristol.

London Weekend Television

London Weekend Television (LWT) was the ITV network franchise holder for Greater London and the Home Counties at weekends, broadcasting from Fridays at 5.15 pm (7:00pm until 1982) to Monday mornings at 6:00am.


Meridian Broadcasting (now branded as ITV Meridian) is the holder of the ITV franchise for the South and South East of England. The station is owned and operated by ITV plc, under the licensee of ITV Broadcasting Limited.


Associated-Rediffusion, later Rediffusion London, was the British ITV contractor for London, on weekdays between 1954 (transmissions started on 22 September 1955) and 29 July 1968.

Scottish Television

Scottish Television (now legally known as STV Central Ltd and referred to on-air as STV) is Scotland's largest ITV franchisee, and has held the ITV franchise for Central Scotland since 31 August 1957.

Southern Television

Southern Television was the first ITV holder for the south and south east of England from 30 August 1958 until 1 January 1982.

Thames Television

Thames Television was a licensee of the British ITV television network, covering London and parts of the surrounding counties on weekdays from 30 July 1968 until 31 December 1992.

Television South

Television South (TVS) was the ITV franchise holder in the south and south east of England between 1 January 1982 and 31 December 1992.

Television South West

Television South West (TSW) was the ITV franchise holder for the South West England region from 1 January 1982 until 31 December 1992.


Television Wales and the West (TWW) was the British "Independent Television" contractor for the franchise area serving 'South Wales and West of England' from 1956 to 1968.

Tyne Tees

ITV Tyne Tees, previously known as Tyne Tees, Channel 3 North East and Tyne Tees Television, is the ITV television franchise for North East England and parts of North Yorkshire.

Ulster Television

UTV (formerly Ulster Television) is a television channel based in the UK region of Northern Ireland.


Westcountry Television is the ITV franchise holder in the South West of England, replacing its predecessor, TSW (Television South West), from the 1 January 1993.

Westward Television

Westward Television was the first ITV franchise holder for the South West of England from 29 April 1961 until 31 December 1981.


Yorkshire Television, now officially known as ITV Yorkshire and sometimes unofficially abbreviated to YTV, is a British television broadcaster and the contractor for the Yorkshire franchise area on the ITV network.